CTK Facebook Page CTK Instagram Page CTK YouTube Page
CTK Alumni Inner Banner

Distinguished Alumni

The Distinguished Alumni Award is given annually to a Christ the King School alumna or alumnus who embodies the mission and values of CTK.

Award Recipients:

2021 - Kevin P. Hays ('99) - Kevin Hays has been posthumously named the Distinguished Alumnus for 2021.  Kevin worked hard to advance awareness of the cancer that he was heroically battling.  It is heartbreaking that he lost his battle with colorectal cancer this October, especially at such a young age.  

Kevin was diagnosed with colorectal cancer at the age of 28.  If caught early, this form of cancer has a high cure rate but sadly there was no cure for Kevin.  In 2019, he received the 40 Under 40 in Cancer award and was the Executive Director of Buffalo Colon Corps, an organization that he founded.  He leaves behind a wife and 3 children.

2020 - Daniel S. Paolini ('98) - Mr Paolini graduated from Christ the King School in 1998.  He then attended Canisius High School and went on to Canisius College where he completed a dual major in Accounting and Accounting Information Systems.

He is currently the CEO at NexxusPoint. NexxusPoint is a Buffalo-based management consultancy comprised of highly qualified professionals seeking to maximize an organization’s investments in its technology, processes and people. They offer a broad range of IT, process improvement, learning and staffing solutions customized to meet business needs.

A member of the Canisius College Board of Regents, Mr. Paolini worked with Accounting Professor, Joseph B. O’Donnell, PhD. to start a unique software education initiative at the college that allows Accounting Information Systems students to earn SAP recognition. SAP is the worldwide leader in enterprise resource planning software solutions, and SAP recognition gives graduates an advantage in the job market.

Paolini gives back to the Western New York community as Board of Trustees President, Kenmore Mercy Hospital Foundation and Board Chair of Leukemia & Lymphoma Society Western & Central New York chapter. He is an active supporter of St. Luke’s Mission of Mercy.

2019 - Dr. Gregory Fabiano ('90) - Following his graduation from Christ the King School in 1990, Dr. Fabiano attended St. Joseph Collegiate Institute.  He then went on to earn a Bachelor's Degree in Psychology from SUNY at Geneseo.  Following a year working in a research lab focused on cutting-edge ADHD research, he enrolled at the University at Buffalo's clinical psychology doctoral program where he earned his PhD.  Currently, he is Professor of Counseling, School and Educational Psychology in the University at Buffalo Graduate School of Education. Gregory Fabiano is an expert on evaluating and treating attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) and other disruptive behavior disorders in children, including teens.

2018 - Kathleen Killeen Flynn ('78) - Following her graduation from CTK in 1978, Kathleen went on to Sacred Heart Academy and Colgate University.  She received her MBA from University at Buffalo.  She is a Financial Adviser offering investment advisory services through Eagle Strategies LLC, a wholly-owned subsidiary of New York Life Insurance Company and a Registered Investment Adviser.  Kathleen is a board member at Hearts & Hands Faith in Action, a member of the WNY Planned Giving Consortium, and a classroom volunteer teacher for Junior Achievement of NY.

2017 - George Kunz ('82) - Following his CTK graduation, Mr. Kunz continued his Catholic education at St. Joseph's Collegiate Institute.  He then received his BA in Economics from SUNY Buffalo with a minor in Physical Education.  An opening as the Phys Ed teacher brought him back to his alma mater, CTK, where he remained for 6 years.  In 2001 he began teaching in the City of Buffalo where he is still working to this day.  Mr. Kunz returned yet again to CTK to enjoy his two children, Georgie and Barbara, enroll as kindergartners working their way to the junior high where they are students today.

2016 - Katrina Foster ('80)

2015 - Maureen Butwin ('63)

2014 - Fr. John Gaglione ('62)